Hockey: India announce team for Sultan of Johor Cup

KalingaTV News Network

Junior Men's Hockey team
Photo : Hockey India/Twitter

New Delhi: India on Saturday announced the 18-member Junior Men’s Hockey team for the ‘seventh Sultan of Johor Cup’ which begins at Johor Bahru in Malaysia from October 22.

Vivek Sagar Prasad has been named as the captain of the team, while Pratap Lakra form Odisha will be his deputy. India will face Japan in the opening match of the tournament.

The Indian team, which last participated in the tournament in 2015, were defeated by Great Britain in the final of fifth Sultan of Johor Cup.

“Announcement! Hockey India names the 18-member Jr. Men’s Team for the 7th Sultan of Johor Cup 2017, starting 22nd Oct 2017”, Hockey India wrote on Twitter.

Apart from India, other participating teams in the tournament are Japan, USA, Australia, Great Britain and hosts Malaysia.

Beside Pratap Lakra, two more from Odisha namely Shilanand Lakra and Suman Beck have secured berth in the Indian squad.

You might also like
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

buy ivermectin buy ivermectin for humans