East Zone Varsity Games end at KIIT Campus

KalingaTV News Network

KITTBhubaneswar: The East-Zone Inter University Games, 2017 concluded at KIIT University campus here on Wednesday evening. Around 3,500 athletes, coaches and officials from 250 universities across the eastern zone of the country participated in the four -day long mega event that started on October 1.

KIIT and KISS founder Dr. Achyuta Samanta graced the concluding ceremony as the chief guest, while internationally-acclaimed athlete Purnima Hembram, AIU observer Dr Taraknath Parmanik and KIIT University Registrar Dr Sashmitarani Samant graced the occasion as guests and distributed prizes to the winners and runners up.

In Basketball (Men), four top teams–Durg University, Utkal University, KIIT University, and Berhumpur University qualified for All India Inter Zone Inter University Tournament 2017-18.

In the Lawn Tennis (Men), KIIT University, Pandit Ravi Shankar University, Manipur University and the Banaras Hindu University secured top four positions respectively and qualified for the All India tournament.

In Badminton (Men), Durg University, TM Bhagalpur University, LN Mithla University and Dibrugarh University were the top four teams, while in Badminton (Women) category, Diburgarh University, Banaras Hindu University, Jadavpur University and Ranchi University secured top four positions, respectively and qualified for the national tournament.

In Volleyball (Men), Utkal University, KIIT University, North Odisha University and Burdhwan Universities qualified for the All India varsity tournament.

In the All India Inter Zone Inter University Tournament 2017-18, KITT University will organise Badminton (Men /Women), Basketball (Men), Tennis (Men ) from 26th to 30th Dec 2017 while Volleyball (Men) event will be held at Jabalpur  university in  Madhya Pradesh in March 2018.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.