Cristiano Ronaldo wins FIFA best player award for fifth time

KalingaTV News Network

FIFA best player
Photo Credit: BBC/ Twitter

London: Cristiano Ronaldo has been honoured with the Best FIFA Men’s Player award of the year at the award ceremony held at the Palladium theater here Monday night.

The Portugal striker claimed the prestigious award for the fifth time and a second straight year, beating his regular rivals, Lionel Messi and Neymar.

The four-time Ballon d’Or winner, Ronaldo helped Real to a Champions League-La Liga double in 2016-17.

Lieke Martens of Barcelona and the Netherlands won best female player, Real Madrid’s Zinedine Zidane was named best men’s coach and Netherlands’ Sarina Wiegman the best female coach.

Arsenal’s Olivier Giroud received the Puskas award for the best goal of 2017 for his ‘scorpion kick’ against Crystal Palace in January.

Celtic won the fan award after they honoured the club’s 1967 ‘Lisbon Lions’ with a stunning 360-degree card display on the 50th anniversary of their historic European Cup win.

You might also like

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.