Bangladesh register maiden T20I win over India

New Delhi : Bangladesh registered its maiden T20 international victory over India and took 1-0 lead in three-match T20 series at the Arun Jaitley stadium here last night.

Chasing the victory target of 149, Mushfiqur Rahim remained unbeaten on 60 to beat India by seven wickets. He and Soumya Sarkar (39 off 35 balls) added 60 runs for the third wicket to steer Bangladesh closer to victory.

Bangladesh lost Liton Das (7) early but debutant Mohammed Naim (26) and experienced Sarkar added 46 runs for the second wicket.

For India, Deepak Chahar, K-khaleel-ahmed and Yuzvendra-chahal scalped one wickets each.

Earlier, Bangladesh won the toss and elected to bowl. Batting first, hosts made 148 for the loss of six wickets in the stipulated 20 overs.

At the top, after skipper Rohit Sharma’s early dismissal, Shikhar Dhawan scored at a slow pace, managing just 41 off 42 balls before running himself out.

Shreyas Iyer played an entertaining 13-ball 22 run knock, giving the innings a much needed move on.

Shivam Dube’s much-awaited debut ended with just one run while Rishabh Pant managed 27 off 26 balls. Washington Sundar (14 off 5 balls) and Krunal Pandya (15 off 8 balls) played cameo in the end.

For Bangladesh, pacer Shafiul Islam  and spinner Aminul Isam shared four wickets between them.

Mushfiqur Rahim was adjudged the Player of the match award.

The second T20 will be played in Rajkot on Thursday.

Also Read: Captain Rani’s Strike Sends India To 2020 Olympics: In Pics


Kalinga TV is now on WhatsApp. Join today to get latest Updates
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.