5 KISS Students Selected for India Under-18 Girls’ Rugby Squad

Bhubaneswar: Five students of Kalinga Institute of Social Sciences (KISS) have been selected in Indian U-18 girls’ rugby team to participate in the “ Asia Rugby Sevens Under 18 Girls’ Championship”, scheduled to be held at Kalinga stadium here from October 26 to 28.

Sumitra Nayak, Soni Mandangi, Lija Sardar, Parbati Kisku and Jemamani Naik are the five students of KISS, who have been named in the 12 member national squad.

Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik will attend the inaugural programme of the 3-day long tournament on Friday, informed Commissioner-cum-Secretary, Odisha Sports & Youth Services and Tourism departments, Vishal Kumar Dev.

Dr. Achyuta Samanta, founder of KIIT & KISS, congratulated the KISS players on being selected to play for the country and conveyed his best wishes to the Indian team for the Championship.

India is hosting the championship for the first time. As Many as 12 countries are taking part in the event.

Notably, Bhubaneswar had successfully hosted the Asian Athletics Championship, Hockey World League and Hero Super Cup. It will also host the Men’s Hockey World Cup in November this year.

Kalinga TV is now on WhatsApp. Join today to get latest Updates
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.