2 Odisha Players named for Men’s Hockey World Cup 2018

0 1,425

Bhubaneswar:  Two players from Odisha- Birendra Lakra and Amit Rohidas- have been selected in the national team for the upcoming Men’s Hockey World cup to be played at the iconic Kalinga stadium here from November 28.

Hockey India (HI) on Thursday named the 18-member Indian Men’s Hockey Team who will represent the host nation at the mega event, which will continue till December 16.

The team will be led by Manpreet Singh while the Vice Captain is Chinglensana Singh Kangujam.

Ace defender Birendra made a comeback into the team after missing out the Hero Asian Champions Trophy in Muscat last month , while Amit has been rewarded for his recent performance. Bothh will join Surender Kumar, Kothajit Singh and 2016 Junior World Cup winners Harmanpreet Singh, Varun Kumar to form India’s defence.

The midfield will see the dynamic Manpreet Singh who played a pivotal role in India’s campaign as defending Champions at the Hero Asian Champions Trophy. Chinglensana Singh Kangujam will add to the experience in the center along with young guns Sumit, Nilakanta Sharma also of the Junior World Cup team and Hardik Singh, who made his International debut last month.

The forward line will see the experienced Akashdeep Singh, Dilpreet Singh, Lalit Upadhyay and Junior World Cup winners Mandeep Singh, Simranjeet Singh.

The Indian team scheduled to begin their campaign against South Africa on the opening day features PR Sreejesh and Krishan Bahadur Pathak as goalkeepers.

India are placed in Pool C along with World No.3 Belgium, Canada and South Africa. The host nation will need to finish on top of the pool to secure a place in the Quarter Final.

The Indian Men team for the Odisha Hockey Men’s World Cup Bhubaneswar 2018

GOALKEEPERS:  P R Sreejesh, Krishan Bahadur Pathak

DEFENDERS:   Birendra Lakra, Amit Rohidas, Harmanpreet Singh, Varun Kumar, Kothajit Singh Khadangbam, Surender Kumar,

MIDFIELDERS: Manpreet Singh (Captain), Chinglensana Singh Kangujam (Vice-Captain), Nilakanta Sharma, Hardik Singh, Sumit

FORWARDS: Akashdeep Singh, Mandeep Singh, Dilpreet Singh, Lalit Kumar Upadhyay, Simranjeet Singh

Also Read: WATCH “Asa Kariba Bobaal, Odisha Naa Heba Global”: Odia Cheer-Up Song Of Men’s Hockey World Cup

You might also like

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.