2 Odias selected in 18-member squad for FIH Men’s Series Finals

New Delhi: Two Odias feature in the 18-member Indian squad announced by Hockey India on Tuesday for the FIH Men’s Series Finals to be held in Bhubaneswar.Odisha feature in the team.

Defenders Birendra Lakra, also the team’s Vice-captain, and Amit Rohidas feature in the team.

The much-awaited FIH Men’s Series Finals Bhubaneswar Odisha 2019 scheduled to begin on 6 June 2019 will be played at the iconic Kalinga Hockey Stadium.

The event will see top-ranked India grouped in Pool A along with Russia, Poland and Uzbekistan while 18th Asian Games Gold Medalist Japan, Mexico, USA and South Africa are grouped in Pool B.

India begin their campaign against Russia and will vie for the top spot to ensure they are on track to win their 2020 Tokyo Olympic berth.

Full squad:

Goalkeepers: Krishan B Pathak, PR Sreejesh

Defenders: Rupinder Pal Singh, Surender Kumar, Harmanpreet Singh, Birendra Lakra (Vice-Captain), Gurinder Singh, Amit Rohidas

Midfielders: Hardik Singh, Manpreet Singh (Captain), Sumit, Vivek Sagar Prasad, Nilakanta Sharma

Forwards: Mandeep Singh, Gursahibjit Singh, Akashdeep Singh, Simranjit Singh, Ramandeep Singh

Also Read: Apurvi Chandela wins year’s 2nd women’s 10m Air Rifle World Cup gold

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.