Three from Odisha take oath as Union Ministers as Modi 3.0 kicks off

New-Delhi/Bhubaneswar: Three MPs from Odisha namely Ashwini Vaishnaw, Dharmendra Pradhan and Jual Oram took oath as Modi 3.0 kicked off this evening.

President Droupadi Murmu administered them the oath of office at an oath taking ceremony held in Rashtrapati Bhavan after she Narendra Modi was sworn-in as the Prime Minister of India for third consecutive term.

  • Jual Oram:
    Jual Oram was born on 22 March 1961 to Dilga and Bhutuki Oram at Kendudihi village in Sundargarh district of Odisha. Despite poverty, he completed his engineering degree at Utkalmani Gopabandhu Institute of Engineering in 1982 and was working in Bharat Heavy Electricals Limited.
  • Oram began his political career by joining the Bharatiya Janata Party in 1989. He was elected to the state Assembly first in 1990 from the Bonai Assembly seat and again in 1995.
  • Later, he contested the Lok Sabha elected from Sundargarh constituency in 1998 and won. He was re-elected to the parliament in the following year and became the first Minister of Ministry of Tribal Affairs on 13 October after the then Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee created the department.
  • On 17 May, 2004, Oram was re-elected to the Lok Sabha for the third time from his constituency. However, lost in 2009. But in 2014, Oram was re-elected to the Lok Sabha from the same constituency and became the Tribal Affairs minister in the Narendra Modi Ministry. Though won the election from the same constituency in 2019, but was not given any charge during Modi’s second tenure.
  • In the just-concluded elections, Oram won the election from the same seat by defeating hockey icon and BJD candidate Dilip Tirkey by more than 1.38 lakh votes.

Dharmendra Pradhan:

  • Pradhan was born in Talcher in Angul district on 26 June, 1969 and is the son of former Union Minister Debendra Pradhan.
  • Pradhan, who has a Master’s degree in anthropology from the Utkal University in Bhubaneswar, started his political career as an Akhil Bhartiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) activist in 1983.
  • Pradhan first became an MLA by winning the state Assembly election in 2000 from the Pallahara. Then he became the Lok Sabha MP in 2004 after winning Deogarh parliamentary constituency.
  • However, he lost the 2009 election from the Pallahara Assembly segment, following which BJP nominated him twice to the Rajya Sabha.
  • He was the Minister of State (In-charge) for Petroleum and Natural Gas in 2014. Later he was promoted to the Cabinet rank in 2017 and on May 31, 2019, he began his second consecutive tenure at the Ministry of Petroleum & Natural Gas.
  • In July 2021, he replaced Ramesh Pokhriyal and became Minister of Education in second Modi ministry after the Cabinet reshuffle.
  • In recently concluded election, Pradhan defeated BJD’s organisational secretary Pranab Prakash Das with a margin of 1.19 lakh votes.

Ashwini Vaishnaw:

  • Vaishnaw was born on 18 July 1970 at Jeewand Kallan village of Pali district, Rajasthan. Later, his family settled in Jodhpur.
  • Vaishnaw joined the Indian Administrative Service in the Odisha cadre in 1994, and has worked extensively in different parts of Odisha including serving as the District Collector of Balasore and Cuttack districts.
    After working in Odisha till 2003, he was appointed as deputy secretary in the office of former Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee. Later, he was appointed as Vajpayee’s private secretary after the BJP-led NDA lost the election in 2004.
  • Vaishnaw became the deputy chairman of Mormugao Port Trust, where he worked for next two years. Later he quit the IAS and began his business and entrepreneurship.
  • He joined BJP in June 2019 and was elected to Rajya Sabha from Odisha only six days after joining the saffron party.
    Since, 2019 he has been representing Odisha in the Rajya Sabha.
  • He became the 55th Communications Minister and 2nd Electronics & Information Technology Minister in Government of India from 2022–24.

Also Read: PM Modi To Hold Roadshow In Bhubaneswar On June 12, Check Details

Kalinga TV is now on WhatsApp. Join today to get latest Updates
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.