Odisha: Newly elected MLAs take oath of office, see details here

Bhubaneswar: The newly elected members of the Odisha Assembly took oath during a special session that started on Tuesday. The Pro-tem Speaker Ranendra Pratap Swain first administered the oath to Chief Minister Mohan Charan Majhi.

According to reports later, two deputy Chief Ministers that is Kanak Vardan Singh Deo and Pravati Parida took their oaths of Office. The Pro-Tem Speaker also administered the oath to former Chief Minister and Biju Janata Dal (BJD) President Naveen Patnaik, who is going to play the role of opposition for the first time in his political career.

Notably, all 147 newly elected MLAs are scheduled to take the oath on June 18 and June 19 while the election for the new Speaker will be held on June 20. Speculation is rife that senior BJP leader Surama Padhi is likely to be fielded by the party as its candidate for the Speaker’s post.

The BJP won 78 seats in the recently concluded Assembly polls ending the 24-year BJD rule in Odisha. The BJD won 51 seats, Congress 14, CPI(M) three and Independents three. In the last Assembly, the BJD had 113 MLAs. (IANS)

Also Read: BJD supremo Naveen Patnaik takes oath as Hinjili MLA

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.