Odisha assembly speaker election: BJP MLA Surama Padhy files nomination

Bhubaneswar: The Bharatiya Janata Party’s Ranpur MLA Surama Pandhy today filed nomination for election of Odisha Legislative Assembly Speaker, which is slated to be held tomorrow.

The senior saffron leader reportedly filed the nomination for the election of the Speaker of the 17th OLA after the party MLAs unanimously decided on Padhy’s name for the coveted post. She filed the nomination paper with Dasarathi Satpathy, the secretary of the Odisha Legislative Assembly.

Surama Pandhy filed her nominations in the presence of Chief Minister Mohan Charan Majhi and Deputy CMs K V Singhdeo, Pravati Parida and other party MLAs.

Sources said that Surama Padhi will be the next Speaker for sure as no other political parties fielded their candidates for the post until the deadline i.e 12 PM today.

With this, Padhy is all set to become the second woman after BJD’s Pramila Mallik to become the Speaker of the State Legislative Assembly.

Meanwhile, eight-time BJD MLA Ranendra Pratap Swain is functioning the house as the Pro-tem speaker.

Also Read: Puri Jagannath Temple Ratna Bhandar To Be Opened On July 8, Details Here

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.