Last phase of voting in Odisha underway amid high security

Bhubaneswar: Today is the last phase of voting in Odisha is underway for the fourth and final phase of elections in the state. Voting is going on in six Lok Sabha seats and 42 assembly seats. About one crore voters will decide the fate of 460 candidates.

There are 66 MP candidates and 394 MLA candidates. The fourth phase has the highest number of voters in the state. Out of total 99 lakh 61 thousand voters, 55 lakh 88 thousand are men. The number of women voters is 48 lakh 72 thousand. There are a total of 10,882 polling stations and more than 1400 Sakhi booths.

20 percent of the booths are designated as ideal booths. 70,000 polling staff have been deployed to conduct the election smoothly. 126 companies of the Central Armed Police Force (CAPF) have been deployed with the state police to maintain law and order.

At least 36,000 police personnel have been deployed to provide security for the last phase of the election in Odisha. The sensitive booths will be the central Armed Police Forces (CAPF). As many as 126 companies of CAPF will be deployed.

Police DG Arun Sarangi said this in a press meet held in the afternoon on Friday. 255 flying squads and 843 mobile squads will be deployed. Police are ready and shall maintain law and order. He said that the EVM will be kept in a two-tier security system.

The last phase of voting in Odisha has the highest number of voters and the fate of as many as 460 candidates will be tested, said the Chief Election Officer. According to reliable reports, the last phase of vote will take place on June 1 that is Saturday in which as many as more than one crore voters will cast their votes, informed the CEO Nikunja Bihari Dhal.

Polling will be held on June 1 from 7 am to 6 pm in the last phase voting in Odisha. 10,882 polling stations have been established in the last phase of voting. While there are more than 1400 Sakhi (pink) booths specifically for women. Reports say that 20 percent booths have been designated as ideal booths.

It is further worth mentioning that, Sec.144 is to be imposed in eight assembly constituencies of Mayurbhanj in Odisha to maintain law and order for the voting on Saturday. This shall be done and to ensure conduct of peaceful, free and fair poll during the Simultaneous General Election to Lok Sabha and Odisha Legislative Assembly 2024.

Sec 144 in Mayurbhanj shall be imposed in Baripada, Kaptipada, Bamanghaty (Rairangpur), Panchpir (Karanjia) All possible steps shall be taken to prevent breach of peace during the ensuing election.

Also Read: Sec.144 To Be Imposed In 8 Assembly Constituencies Of Mayurbhanj In Odisha

Kalinga TV is now on WhatsApp. Join today to get latest Updates
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.