Diphtheria vaccination begins in Rayagada district

Bhubaneswar: Odisha government today began diphtheria vaccination in Rayagada district to contain further outbreak of the contagious bacterial infection.

According to sources, pentavalent vaccines will be administered to the children who are below one year old while the single-dose diphtheria, pertussis (whooping cough), and tetanus (DPT) vaccines will be administered to the children aged between one and seven. Likewise, the children above seven years will be administered tetanus and Diphtheria (TD) doses.

It is to be noted here that the State government decided to begin the Diphtheria vaccination as the contagious bacterial infection has started to spread tentacles in three districts– Koraput, Kalahandi and Rayagada. A total of 21 cases of Diphtheria were detected in these three districts while five people have died due to the infections so far.

Meanwhile, Director of Public Health Nilakantha Mishra informed that no new cases were detected yesterday or even today. However, the concerned officers have been asked to strengthen surveillance. Besides, surveys are underway in surrounding villages near the affected areas.

Mishra further said that all patients who were undergoing treatment at Rayagda district headquarter hospital (DHH) have been discharged while four persons are still undergoing treatment in Kalahandi DHH.

Also Read: Odisha Assembly Speaker Election: BJP MLA Surama Padhy Files Nomination

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.