Voting peaceful so far, 41% polling recorded till 1 pm: Odisha CEO

Bhubaneswar: Approximately 41 percent of total 60,03,707 voters had exercised their franchise in the first six hours of the first phase polling across 4 Lok Sabha and 28 Assembly seats in the state today, informed Surendra Kumar, Chief Electoral Officer (CEO), Odisha.

While informing the media on the ongoing polling in the State, Kumar also said that the polling process remained peaceful till 1 pm and no untoward incident was reported from any polling booth.

Pointing at the incidents of EVM glitch which were reported from Malkangiri, Koraput, Kalahandi, Rayagada and Gajapati districts the CEO claimed the machines were repaired within 30-40 minutes to allow the polling take smoothly.

However, ruling out any extension in voting time where EVM dysfunction delayed polling Kumar added voters who queue up within the time limit will be allowed to cast their votes.

Notably, voting which started at 7 am in the morning will continue till 4 pm in all Maoist infested areas and till 6 pm at other places.

Lok Sabha constituency wise voter turnout in the State till 1 pm today was, Berhampur (43%), Nabarangpur (45%), Kalahandi (39%) and Koraput (42%) informed the Office of the Chief Electoral Officer.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.