Vote count begins for Delhi Assembly polls

New Delhi, Feb 11: Counting of votes began on Tuesday for the Delhi Assembly polls that were held on February 8.

Counting for the 70 Assembly constituencies, which started at 8 a.m., is taking place at 21 locations in the capital city.

Postal ballots will be counted first after which votes cast on voting machines will be taken up.

Initial trends have trickled in from Delhi Cantonment, Ballimaran and Burari where the number of postal ballots are low. Delhi’s ruling Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) was leading at Ballimaran when leads began.

Prominent among those whose fates will be decided after Tuesday’s results include Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal, who is aiming for his third term in office.

There were a total of 672 candidates in the fray.

The Delhi Assembly elections held on February 8, saw a high-voltage campaign between the ruling AAP and the BJP, while the Congress ended up as inconsequential participant.

You might also like
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.