Telangana: 12 Congress MLAs join ruling TRS

Hyderabad:  In a major setback to the Congress in Telangana, as many as 12 of its 18 Members of State Legislative Assembly (MLAs) were recognised as members of the ruling Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) by the Assembly Speaker on Thursday.

Speaker of State Legislative Assembly Speaker Pocharam Srinivasa Reddy, in the bulletin released this evening, stated that the 12 members of Congress Party who had submitted a letter seeking the merger are deemed to have been merged with the TRS from today.

With this, the strength of Congress party in the Assembly came down to six from 18 losing main Opposition party status.

Earlier in the day, the 12 Congress MLAs submitted a letter with their signatures and said that they are interested to work with Chief Minister K Chandra Sekhara Rao for the all-round development of the state.

The Congress won 19 out of 119 seats in the Telangana Assembly during the elections held late last year. On Wednesday, the Congress’ in the House came down to 18 when the party’s Telangana state unit chief Uttam Kumar Reddy resigned after being elected to the Lok Sabha from Nalgonda.

Also Read: RBI Reduces Repo Rate By 25 Basis Points To 5.75 %


You might also like

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.