Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman poll today

New Delhi: The election to the post of Deputy Chairman of the Rajya Sabha will be held today. Ruling NDA candidate Harivansh Narayan Singh of JD (U) and Opposition nominee BK Hariprasad of Congress will lock horns for the coveted constitutional post.

Both of them filed their notices of motion for the post on the last day yesterday. Secretariat sources said, the election will take place during the first hour and it will be held by a voice vote. In the case of a division, voting will take place.

The current strength of the Rajya Sabha is 244 and support of 123 members would be needed for a win in the full House. BJP is the largest party in the House with 73 members and the Congress has 50 members.

The post of Deputy Chairman has been lying vacant since the retirement of Prof. PJ Kurien last month.

Harivansh is a veteran journalist representing Bihar, while  Hariprasad represents Karnataka in the House.

Kalinga TV is now on WhatsApp. Join today to get latest Updates
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.