Rahul Gandhi offers to resign as Congress President, CWC rejects


New Delhi: Congress President Rahul Gandhi’s offer to resign as Party President following Congress debacle in the just concluded Lok Sabha elections has been rejected by the Congress Working Committee (CWC), said party spokesperson Randeep Surjewala on Saturday.

Briefing the press here, Surjewala said, ” Party President Rahul Gandhi offered his resignation but it was rejected by the members of CWC unanimously.”

In election 2019 Rahul Gandhi led a fierce campaign against Narendra Modi and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) for several months, however, it failed to reap any benefits for the Congress. He even could not win from his traditional Amethi seat in Uttar Pradesh. He was defeated to the BJP’s Smriti Irani. However, he won from Kerala’s Wayanad which can be seen as a small consolation.

As per reports, Rahul has accepted “100 percent” responsibility for the debacle of the age-old party which got merely 52 seats. Though Congress improved on its 2014 tally of 44, it could win eight more Lok Sabha seats this year. The party could not open its account in 18 states and Union Territories.

Addressing a press conference on May 23, when asked if he will resign, Rahul Gandhi had said that it should be left on him and the CWC to decide.

Congress Working Committee (CWC) met in the national capital today to discuss the party’s disaster in the just-ended election in which Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s BJP and its allies won a spectacular mandate of over 350 seats in the 543-member Lok Sabha.

The Congress Working Committee (CWC) includes Rahul Gandhi, his mother Sonia Gandhi, sister Priyanka Gandhi Vadra and former prime minister Manmohan Singh.

Rahul Gandhi’s nationwide campaign crafted around his “Chowkidar Chor Hai” barb for PM Modi failed in this election. While the party was a washout in 17 states and union territories it even couldn’t do any better even in the three heartland states that it won just in December. The party won two seats in Chhattisgarh, one in Madhya Pradesh and none in Rajasthan.

Even this time Priyanka Gandhi aggressively campaigned. Yet, her launch into the Uttar Pradesh battle couldn’t save the Congress from the debacle. During the campaign, she directly attacked the PM. Of course, the party managed to acquire one seat. Out of the state’s 80 constituencies Sonia Gandhi won from Raebareli. The Prime Minister Narendra Modi won from Varanasi by a margin of over 4.7 lakh votes.

Also read: Imran Khan Congratulates PM Modi For Big Win In 2019 Elections

You might also like

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.