Om Birla gets unanimously elected as Lok Sabha Speaker

PM Modi lauds him and escorts him to the Chair

New Delhi: Om Birla, BJP’s senior lawmaker from Rajasthan Kota-Bundi seat, on Wednesday was unanimously elected the new Lok Sabha Speaker today after opposition parties supported his candidature. Prime Minister Narendra Modi, who moved the motion for his election, lauded his election and then personally led him to the Speaker’s chair after the formalities were over.

“It is a matter of great pride for the House and we all congratulate Om Birla Ji on being unanimously elected as the Speaker of the Lok Sabha,” PM Modi said.

The motion to choose Birla as the speaker was moved by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, who is also Leader of the House, and passed by a voice vote.

Om Birla gets unanimously elected as 17th Lok Sabha Speaker
PM Modi congratulates Om Birla on his nomination as LS Speaker (Courtesy: LSTV)

Birla’s name was supported by all major opposition parties, including Congress, Trinamool, DMK and BJD. His election as the speaker was a foregone conclusion given that the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance has a clear majority of 353 members in the 543-member Lok Sabha. Birla,56, will be overtaking eight-time lawmaker Smt Sumitra Mahajan.

Two-time MP Om Birla (57) has been MLA from Rajasthan Kota-Bundi seat thrice.

Om Birla is a member of the Standing Committee on Energy in Parliament, member of Committee on Petitions and Consultative Committee for Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment.

BJD’s Pinaki Misra extended his best wishes to the newly elected Speaker on his new term. YSR Congress MP Srinivas, Shiv Sena MP and Union Minister Arvind Sawant, DMK leader T.R. Baalu, Trinamool Congress leader Sudip Bandyopadhyay also extended their congratulatory wishes to Om Birla.

Also Read: Monsoon Rainfall Deficit Hits 43%, Might Improve By Next Week

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.