Odisha Assembly Election: 5-Time MLA Duryodhan Majhi Quits BJP

Bhubaneswar: Khariar MLA Duryodhan Majhi from Nuapada district resigned from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) today ahead of the forthcoming elections in Odisha.

According to reports, the five-time legislator resigned from the primary membership of the saffron party and sent his resignation letter to party’s state president Basanta Panda.

Majhi said that he left the lotus party as he was denied the party ticket, list of which (for 99 Assembly constituencies) was declared yesterday.

“I had requested several senior party leaders including Dharmendra Pradhan and KV Singdeo to give me a ticket to contest the upcoming election. They had also assured me a ticket. However, they did not give me the ticket, because of which I resigned from BJP,” said Majhi while speaking exclusively to Kalinga TV after his resignation.

It is worthwhile to mention here that BJP has fielded Rita Rani Bagarti from Khariar assembly segment replacing the sitting MLA.

Also Read: Group Clash Post-Holi Leaves Several Injured In Odisha’s Jeypore

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.