Naveen Patnaik not to attend PM Modi’s swearing-in ceremony

Bhubaneswar:  BJD President and Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik will not attend the swearing-in ceremony of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and new Council of Ministers in New Delhi on Thursday as newly elected MLAs of State Assembly are scheduled to take oath here tomorrow.

“The newly elected members of the 16th Vidhan Sabha (Assembly) will take oath tomorrow. As leader of the House, the Chief Minister will remain present during the occasion. So, Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik is not able to visit Delhi tomorrow to attend the swearing-in ceremony of Prime Minister and his council of ministers,” an official communication issued by the Chief Minister’s Office said this evening.

Earlier on the day, PM Modi congratulated Patnaik soon after the later took oath as the Chief Minister of Odisha for a record fifth consecutive time and assured him “complete cooperation from the centre in working for Odisha’s progress”.

Along with 72-year-old Patnaik, 20 other members of the new Council of Ministers in State Government were sworn in at a special ceremony held at the Exhibition Ground here this morning.

Also Read: Amar Prasad Satpathy Appointed Pro-Tem Speaker Of Odisha Assembly


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.