The news is by your side.

Nanaji Deshmukh, Bhupen Hazarika & Pranab Mukherjee to get Bharat Ratna


New Delhi: President Ram Nath Kovind has been pleased to award Bharat Ratna to Nanaji Deshmukh (posthumously), Dr Bhupen Hazarika (posthumously) and former President Dr Pranab Mukherjee. This was informed by the Rashtrapati Bhavan this evening.

Meanwhile taking to his twitter handle Prime Minister Narendra Modi hailed and congratulated the trio.

“Nanaji Deshmukh’s stellar contribution towards rural development showed the way for a new paradigm of empowering those living in our villages. He personifies humility, compassion and service to the downtrodden. He is a Bharat Ratna in the truest sense!,” said the PM.

“The songs and music of Shri Bhupen Hazarika are admired by people across generations. From them radiates the message of justice, harmony and brotherhood. He popularised India’s musical traditions globally. Happy that the Bharat Ratna has been conferred on Bhupen Da,” he added.

Speaking about former president Mukherjee, Modi said, “Pranab Da is an outstanding statesman of our times. He has served the nation selflessly and tirelessly for decades, leaving a strong imprint on the nation’s growth trajectory. His wisdom and intellect have few parallels. Delighted that he has been conferred the Bharat Ratna.”

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.