Mizoram CM Lal Thanhawla loses from 2 seats

Aizawl: Five-time Chief Minister and Congress leader Lal Thanhwala on Tuesday lost both Champai South and Serchhip seats in the State Assembly polls.

Thanhwala lost to Mizo National Front (MNF) candidate F. J Lalnuntluanga in Champhai South constituency by a margin of over one thousand votes.

More importantly, Serchhip assembly segment, where the Congress leader won for a record seven times since 1984 barring 1998, was snatched by Zoram People’s Movement’s (ZPM) chief ministerial candidate Lalduhoma.

The counting trends indicate that MNF is way ahead in the 40-member Assembly.

As per the latest reports, MNF is leading in 25 seats while Congress is ahead in 6 constituencies and BJP in one seat.

Counting of votes is also underway for the Assembly elections in Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan and Telangana.

Also Read: Congress Leads In Chhattisgarh, BJP Trails

You might also like
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.