Mayawati extends support to NDA’s Presidential candidate Droupadi Murmu

Bhubaneswar: Mayawati, the leader of the Bahujan Samaj Party, declared on Saturday that she will support National Democratic Alliance (NDA)’s presidential candidate Droupadi Murmu in the presidential election. She said that the decision to back Ms Murmu, a tribal leader, was taken as the BSP has identified the tribal community as a major part of our movement.

The BSP leader also criticised the opposition for choosing Yashwant Sinha as presidential candidate without consulting her party. “Sharad Pawar, the leader of the Nationalist Congress Party, and Mamata Banerjee, the chief minister of Bengal, neither invited the BSP nor other parties to the initial meeting. The opposition merely pretended to seek agreement on the presidential candidate,” she said.

Ms. Mayawati claimed that the BSP was independent to take a decision on the presidential elections because the opposition was still harbouring a casteist viewpoint towards her party.

“The BSP is the only national party with a Dalit leadership. We are not an industrialist-friendly party or one that supports the BJP or the Congress. On the other hand, we make decisions that benefit the oppressed, and when a party makes a decision that benefits such castes or class of people, we support that party regardless of the results,” she said.

Ahead of the July 18 presidential election, Droupadi Murmu, the first female tribal leader who is most likely to be elected to the nation’s top constitutional position, filed her nomination on Friday in the presence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and senior BJP and alliance leaders. She is the former Governor of Jharkhand and an ex-Odisha minister.

If elected, Ms. Murmu will hold the position of second woman in the post and the first woman tribal chief. At 64, Ms. Murmu will be the second-youngest president in history, trailing only N Sanjeeva Reddy, who became the president when he was a few days elder to her.

The presidential election would be held on July 18 to choose a successor to current President Ram Nath Kovind, whose term will end on July 24. The results will be announced on July 21.

Also Read: Draupadi Murmu shares strong spiritual ties with Rajasthan

You might also like
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.