Maharashtra Assembly special session stands cancelled, No floor test today

Mumbai: Maharashtra Assembly Secretary Rajendra Bhagwat informed all state MLAs that as per the Governor’s orders, “there’s no need for a floor test now, so today’s special session will not be convened.”

The special Assembly was scheduled today with the only agenda of a Trust Vote against the Maha Vikas Aghadi government led by Uddhav Thackeray.

On Wednesday morning, Maharashtra Governor Bhagat Singh Koshyari had ordered to conduct a special session of the Assembly on 30 June.

Uddhav Thackeray was supposed to prove his majority in the House during the floor test but he resigned from the post of Maharashtra chief minister.

As leader of opposition, Devendra Fadnavis is expected to return for his third term as the chief minister of Maharashtra.

Maharashtra Assembly has 287 members, BJP has 106 MLAs. The MVA strength before the revolt in the Sena was 152 Sena (55), NCP (53), Congress (44). Smaller parties and Independents and Others, have remaining 29 members.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.