Know the Final Assembly Election Results 2018

Bhubaneswar: The Assembly Election Results 2018 became a big blow to BJP on Tuesday ahead of next year’s general election. The saffron party lost three important states, Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan in the state assembly elections.

While Congress made a clean sweep in Chhattisgarh, Mizo National Front (MNF) ousted the grand-old party in Mizoram. Likewise, the K. Chandrashekar Rao (KCR)-led Telangana Rashtriya Samiti (TRS) retained its stronghold in the newly-formed state.

However, there was a neck-to-neck fight between Congress and BJP for Rajasthan and Madhya Pradesh, but finally, Congress managed to get more seats. While it touched the magic number to form the government in Rajasthan, it fell short of two seats in Madhya Pradesh.

Chhattisgarh (Total Assembly Seats – 90, Magic No. 46)

  • Congress-68
  • BJP- 14
  • BSP-7
  • Others- 1

Mizoram (Total Assembly Seats 40, Magic No 21)

  • Mizo National Front (MNF)- 26
  • Independent- 8
  • Congress- 5
  • BJP- 1

Telangana (Total Assembly Seats 119, Magic No 60)

  • TRS- 87
  • BJP- 01
  • Congress- 20
  • Others- 00

Rajasthan (Total Assembly Seats – 199, Magic No. 99)

  • Congress- 101
  • BJP- 73
  • Others- 19
  • BSP-6

Madhya Pradesh (Total Assembly Seats – 230, Magic No. 116)

  • Congress- 114
  • BJP- 109
  • Others- 5
  • BSP-2

Meanwhile, Congress has begun contacting leaders of small parties and the independents for mustering a simple majority to form the government in Madhya Pradesh.

Elections were held in two phases (on November 12 and 20) in Chhattisgarh while Madhya Pradesh and Mizoram were held on November 28. On the other hand, the voters of Telangana and Rajasthan had exercised their franchise on December 7.

More than 8,500 candidates were in the election fray in the above five states.

Also Read: Assembly Polls: Odisha CM Congratulates Winners, Says Results Show The Mood Of The Nations

You might also like
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.