Karnataka To Have 3 Deputy Chief Ministers

Bengaluru: Karnataka Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa announced on Monday evening that the state will have no fewer than three deputy chief ministers, namely, Govind Karjol, Dr Ashwath Narayan and Laxman Savadi.

Govind Karjol has been assigned the PWD and social welfare ministries too. Dr Ashwath Narayan, very prominent at the time of the collapse of the coalition government of the Congress and HD Kumaraswamy, has been given the portfolios of higher education, Information Technology, Biotechnology and Science and Technology.

Similarly, Laxman Savadi has been given the transport portfolio. The home department goes to Basavaraj Bommai.

Former chief minister Jagadish Shettar has got the industries portfolio, while Suresh Kumar, a former law minister of the state, will be in charge of primary and secondary education. C T Ravi, known for his right-wing views, is in charge of Tourism, Kannada and Culture.

The only woman in the cabinet, Jolle Shashikala Annasaheb, has been given the Women and Child Development portfolio. For now, Chief Minister Yediyurappa will keep all unallocated portfolios.

The cabinet expansion has seen ruffled feathers among BJP leaders, who were left out of the first list. Some have openly been critical of the decisions and did not hesitate in showing their disdain.

Also Read: Watch: Action-Packed Trailer Of ‘War’ Starring Hrithik Roshan & Tiger Shroff

Kalinga TV is now on WhatsApp. Join today to get latest Updates
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.