Karnataka: 2 MLAs quit Coalition; CM says no threat to Govt

Bengaluru: In a major political development in Karnataka politics, two Independent MLAs withdrew support to JD(S)-Congress coalition government headed by H D Kumaraswamy on Tuesday.

Two Independent MLAs, R Shankar, from Ranebennur, and H Nagesh from Mulbagal announced their decision to pull out of the ruling coalition at a press conference in Mumbai and released letters to the Governor.

R Shankar had been dropped from HD Kumaraswamy’s cabinet last month.

With the exit of the two independent MLAs, the numbers for the coalition government reduced to 118 — 80 MLAs of the Congress, 37 of the JD(S) and 1 MLA from the Bahujan Samaj Party.

Meanwhile, Chief Minister Kumaraswamy said this development will not affect his government.

“I have not taken any responsibilities for the Independent MLAs, I have formed the government with the support of the Congress, not those two Independents… If two MLAs have withdrawn support what will be the numbers? I am totally relaxed,” Kumaraswamy told reporters.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.