India Create History At Gabba,Brisbane With 2-1 Series Win

Brisbane: India has won the fourth and final test match of the series against Australia at The Gabba in Brisbane and retain the Border-Gavaskar Trophy.

With this India has clinched the series with 2-1 against Australia.

Chasing 328, India achieved the target in 97 overs with Rishabh Pant remaining unbeaten on 89. Shubman Gill and Cheteshwar Pujara also scored 91 and 56 runs respectively.

West Indies were the last one to beat Australia at what is considered a fortress for the Australian team.

India have played seven matches, losing five, drawing one and winning the one in the ongoing series.

This is also the first time Australia have not won at The Gabba since 2012.

PM overjoyed with the team’s win shared on twitter, “We’re all overjoyed at the success of Indian Cricket Team in Australia. Their remarkable energy and passion was visible throughout. So was their stellar intent, remarkable grit and determination. Congratulations to the team! Best wishes for your future endeavours”.

BCCI has also announced Rs 5 crore as team bonus. BCCI Secretary Jay Shah said, These are special moments for India Cricket. An outstanding display of character and skill.

This victory means so much more because it came at ‘Fortress Gabba’. This is the first time that Australia have been beaten in 32 years. Australia’s last defeat at Gabba was with West Indies in 1988.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.