Harivansh Narayan Singh elected as Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman

New Delhi: NDA candidate Harivansh Narayan Singh has been elected as Rajya Sabha deputy chairman with 125 votes, crossing the required majority mark of 119 votes.

UPA’s BK Hariprasad got 105 votes in the election that began at 11 AM on Thursday.

Harivansh Narayan Singh, a first-time MP of the JD-U, was born on 30 June 1956 in Uttar Pradesh’s Ballia. He is a former journalist and former editor-in-chief of Hindi daily Prabhat Khabar.

The post of the Deputy Chairman had been lying vacant since June following the retirement of PJ Kurien.


Kalinga TV is now on WhatsApp. Join today to get latest Updates
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.