Will contest from all seats of Uttar Pradesh: Congress

New Delhi: Congress General Secretary Ghulam Nabi Azad announced on Sunday that Congress will contest from all of the 80 seats of Uttar Pradesh in the upcoming elections.

The decision came after a close-door meet amongst senior Congress leaders in Lucknow. UP Congress chief Raj Babbar was also part of this meet.

“If any secular party competent to fight the BJP, willing to go with us, we will accommodate them,” PTI quoted Azad as saying.

Azad also hoped to double the number of seats they had won back in 2009.

On Congress being left out of the SP-BSP alliance, Azad said, “We wanted that Congress should have been a part of the grand alliance (against the BJP) in UP. But, if someone does not want to walk along, then nothing could be done.”

In a joint press meet yesterday, Mayawati had said that both parties will contest 38 seats each in Uttar Pradesh, which has 80 parliamentary constituencies. They won’t contest two Congress strongholds – Amethi, which is Congress president Rahul Gandhi’s constituency, and Sonia Gandhi’s seat Raebareli.

Congress might view this as a post-election coalition opportunity.

Also Read: SP, BSP To Contest 38 Lok Sabha Seats Each In Uttar Pradesh

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.