Centre forms Group of Ministers To Deal With Workplace Harassment

New Delhi: The Central Government has constituted a Group of Ministers to deal with sexual harassment at workplace. The Government’s move comes after the then Union Minister M J Akbar was forced to step down after several women accused him of sexual misconduct during his days as Editor of Telegraph.

Headed by Home Minister Rajnath Singh, the group includes Defence minister Nirmala Sitharaman, Road and Transport minister Nitin Gadkari and Union Minister for Women and Child Development Maneka Gandhi.

Within 3 months, the group of Ministers will examine the existing provisions for the safety of women and recommend further measures required to strengthen and make them more effective.

The ministers will recommend action required for effective implementation of the existing provisions, as well as for strengthening the existing legal and institutional frameworks for addressing issues related to sexual harassment at workplace.

With the #metoo movement on the surge, Maneka Gandhi had earlier expressed her solidarity with women and assured that her ministry will set up a committee of senior judicial and legal persons to look into issues of sexual harassment. Gandhi said she understands the “pain and trauma behind every single complaint” and cases of sexual harassment at work “must be dealt with a policy of zero tolerance”.

Her ministry had also launched an Electronic Complaints Box that enables women, irrespective of their work status, to raise their voice against sexual harassment at their workplace. Once a complaint is submitted to the ‘SHe-Box’, it is directly sent to the concerned authority to take action into the matter.

Also Read:  MJ Akbar Resigns As Union Minister

Kalinga TV is now on WhatsApp. Join today to get latest Updates
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.