BJP leader BS Yediyurappa takes oath as Chief Minister of Karnataka

Bengaluru: BJP leader BS Yediyurappa was sworn in as the Chief Minister of Karnataka for the fourth time on Friday , three days after the coalition government led by HD Kumaraswamy failed a test of strength.

Governor Vajubhai Vala administered the oath of office and secrecy to the new Chief Minister at a special ceremony held at the Raj Bhavan here a little while ago.

Sources said, the ministers of the new government will take oath after the floor test. Yediyurappa has to prove his majority by July 31 but sources say he may seek a trust vote before that, on Monday.

The Congress-JDS coalition government collapsed on Tuesday after losing the vote of confidence in the assembly after a three-week-long intense power struggle triggered by the rebel legislators.

BJP has 105 members in the Assembly House of 222 members, with Speaker disqualifying three members yesterday. The cases of another 14 Congress and JD(S) MLAs who resigned are yet to be decided by the Speaker.

Former Union Minister S M Krishna, BJP Karnataka in-charge Muralidhar Rao, MPs Pratap Simha, Shobha Karandlaje and party MLAs graced the occasion.

Also Read: Two From Odisha In Indian Women’s Hockey Team For Tokyo Olympics 2020 Test Event

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.