Assembly election dates for 5 states announced

New Delhi: The Election Commission (EC) of India on Saturday announced the dates for assembly polls for five states in the country including Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Telangana, Mizoram and Chhattisgarh.

Releasing the polling schedule at a press conference here Chief Election Commissioner OP Rawat announced single phase election for Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Telangana, Mizoram along with a two-phase voting in Chhattisgarh.

As per the schedule, Madhya Pradesh and Mizoram will go poll on November 28 whereas voters will exercise their franchise in Rajasthan and Telangana on December 7. In Chhattisgarh the polling will take place on November 12 in the first phase and again on November 20 in the second phase.

Similarly, by-polls in Shimoga, Bellary and Mandya will be conducted on November 3, said the CEC.

As far as counting of votes are concerned a single day has been fixed for all the five states and it will be doe on December 11.

Announcing of the model code of conduct also on the occasion, Rawat said it would come into force with immediate effect in four states while in Telangana it was in force from the date of dissolution of the assembly last month.

Notably, Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) and Voter-Verified Paper Audit Trail (VVPATs) will be used in the current round of elections for which all arrangements have already finished.

Also Read: BJD is ready for early elections: Pratap Keshari Deb

You might also like

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.