3 MLAs from West Bengal join BJP

New Delhi: In a fresh setback to firebrand leader Mamata Banerjee, two Trinamool Congress (TMC) and one CPM legislator along with more than 50 councillors from three civic bodies from West Bengal joined the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) here on Tuesday.

TMC MLAs Subhranshu Roy, Tusharkanti Bhattacharjee and CPM MLA Devendra Roy, as well as more than 50 TMC councillors from Halisahar, Kanchrapara and Naihati municipalities, joined the saffron party at a special programme held at the party headquarter here, informed  BJP National General Secretary

Subhranshu is the son of BJP leader Mukul Roy. He had recently been suspended by Mamata Banerjee-led TMC for alleged anti-party activities.

The development came in the wake of BJP’s landslide win in the Lok Sabha elections, powered by excellent performance in West Bengal.

From two seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the BJP won 18 out of 42 in 2019 elections. On the other hand, the ruling TMC won 22 seats in the Lok Sabha elections this year, down from 34 in 2014elections.


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.