Plus Two Admissions: Odisha govt closes 4 colleges, restricts 23 from admission

KalingaTV News Network  

Bhubaneswar: The School & Mass Education Department of Odisha government has closed four colleges and put restriction on 23 other colleges from admission in 2018-19 academic session for not developing infrastructure.

The move came for the first time after the Plus Two colleges came under the School & Mass Education department from the Higher Education department.

According to reports, Deogarh Women’s College in Deogarh district, Shree Valley College in Rourkela, Om Herambalaya Residential College at Berhampur in Ganjam district, and Self-financing Rotary College in Bargarh district have been closed in the academic session for not developing infrastructure.

Similarly, Satya Sai Science College and Regional Institute of Science & Technology in Balasore district, Saraswato Sishu Bidya Gyan Mandir in Balangir district, Shakti College in Cuttack, Rengalbeda Regional Panchayat College in Deogarh, Bidyabharati Residential College in Angul, RJSMS, Shastri Institute of Science & Technology, Krishna International College of Science & Commerce, Ambedkar College and Pratibha Residential College in Berhampur and KBK Times Academy in Kalahandi district have been restricted from conducting admission this year.

The other institutions which have been exempted from conducting admission are – Rama Devi College in Kendrapara, Subash Science College and Nano Science College in Khordha, Sarala Science Residential College and Mangala Residential College in Puri district, Swami Vivekananda Residential College in Rayagada district, Charmal College and Shree Arovinda Institute of Integral Education and Research in Sambalpur district, Kalinga College and Maa Mekkani Women’s College in Sonepur district and Savitri Gopal Panchayat College in Sundergarh.

The students have been directed not to go for admission in those colleges.

On the other hand, the department has given permission to 56 institutes on specific condition to proceed for admission while 12 colleges have asked for permission for infrastructure development.

Authorities of two colleges have been asked to shift their campus in order to take part in the admission process this year.

Sources said that the admission will be conducted in more than 1500 Plus Two colleges in 2018-19 academic session, out of which 435 are self-financing colleges.

The state government had closed 82 colleges in the last academic session.

Kalinga TV is now on WhatsApp. Join today to get latest Updates
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.